The DEVONtechnologies Blog

How to Upgrade Promo Licenses

September 25, 2019 — Eric Böhnisch-Volkmann

Our newly introduced user accounts list all your licenses as well as the upgrade options for them. Everyone who purchased directly from us has an account, a.k.a. the old customer records now with log-in facility. You can read more about accounts and upgrades in this post.

But what if you purchased your license not from us but in a promotion, e.g., from MacUpdate Promo, StackSocial, or a bundle? In this case you may not have an account as our promotions parters did not share your personal details with us to protect your privacy. But that does not mean, of course, that you can't upgrade…

P.S. In the future our promotion partners will need to share at least your name and email address with us, though, as our new licenses require to verify themselves with our backend.

Upgrading from Inside DEVONthink

To directly check your upgrade options do the following (applies to all editions):

  1. Make sure you have DEVONthink 2.11.3 installed. If you still use an older version, visit our Legacy Downloads page, download the correct archive for your edition, unpack it, and install it over the older version.
  2. Open DEVONthink.
  3. Make sure that you've entered your license code, e.g., by choosing the menu command DEVONthink > License. If needed enter your license details.
  4. Choose DEVONthink > Purchase.

DEVONthink will open a page in your web browser that lists all available upgrade options for the license. If you've found something you like you can directly upgrade from there without ever fiddling around with an account.

Upgrading as Student or Educator

This also works when you're an approved student or educator. Simply make sure that you're logged into your account that has your special status. When you then use the steps above while being logged in, the upgrade price will be adjusted accordingly.

Merging Your Accounts

If you still use the same email address that you also used in the past the new license will end up in the same account. If you don't, you could either update the email address of your account yourself (provided that you were able to set a password using your old address) or contact us and we'll update your account for you.

If you already have multiple accounts, we're happy to merge them for you. We'll need proper, verifiable information about the email addresses that you used in the past.